A group of kangaroos in Victoria, Australia

Australia offers some of the best diving locations in the world. Located at the east side of Australia, the Great Barrier Reef is known for its fabulous diving spots and incredible wildlife. The Great Barrier Reef covers an area of approximately 2300 kilometres long and 250 kilometres width, resulting in an area of 344,400 km² reef in total. The easiest way to access the Great Barrier Reef is by a trip from Cairns or Port Douglas.

In the south area, you have the opportunity to go cage diving with Great White Sharks while in the west, Ningaloo marine park, Coral Bay and Exmouth are known for its wonderful dive sites.

Scuba diving destinations in Australia


Cairns and The Great Barrier Reef

Darwin Harbour

Ningaloo Reef




Western Australia & Perth

Whitsundays Islands

About Australia

Known as the “Land Down Under”, Australia is the largest country in the Oceania continent and is closely located to Indonesia and New-Zealand. In addition, Australia is listed in the top six of the biggest countries in the world. You should expected that Australia has a high density of population due to its size. However, Australia only has a population of around 26-27 million people. Most of the people live in the east and south part of Australia.

The mainland of Australia is divided by six states and 10 territories. The main states and territories are: Western Australia, Northern Territory, Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Australian Capital Territory and Tasmania. Furthermore, Australia is surrounded by many islands such as, Kangaroo Island, Christmas Island, Fraser Island, Phillip Island and Magnetic Island.

Most people believes that Sydney is the capital of Australia. This is not true as Canberra, located in the Australian Capital Territory, is the capital of Australia.

Australia climate and weather

In terms of climate, each Australian state and territory has a different climate type because of the continent’s vastness. The northern part of the continent has a tropical climate with rainy summers. This includes the Northern Territory, as well as the upper ends of Queensland and Western Australia. In the southwestern end of Australia, which includes the city of Perth and a large part of Western Australia, the climate is more Mediterranean

On the other hand, the southeastern end of the country has a mixed climate. Tasmania and coastal Victoria have an Oceanic climate, while the northern half of New South Wales has a humid subtropical climate. The highlands of the state have alpine and subpolar oceanic climates.

The largest part of Australia is composed of desert and semi-arid land called “outback” by the locals.

Australian currency

Australia uses the Australian Dollar (''AUD"). You can easily exchange the main currencies to the AUD on the airports. Another easy option is to use the ATMs with your local bankcard.

Visa Australia

If you would like to get into Australia, you will need a visa. There are different types of visas available, but the most common one is the tourist visa. For most people, this visa is free and you can easily apply online for the ‘’eVisitor’’ visa.

Find more information on visas, the visa conditions, how to apply for each visa and the latest information on the website of the Department of Home Affairs Immigration and citizenship.